top of page
  • Writer's picturePokey

MyFreeTaxes.com

Updated: Jun 17, 2019


Giving this a try. TurboTax led me astray last year. Charged me over $100 to file a pretty basic report. It was my first filing experience and I didn't have much income or anything to report on.

I hope MyFreeTaxes.com and H&R Block actually mean free when they advertise free filing.

 

March 26th update:

I have sent my tax returns away, unfortunately, had to do this by mail. For a reason H&R Block couldn't even resolve. My e-file was rejected.... 5 times.

At least the filing did end up being free. I learned today that the IRS charges you $40 to make a direct deposit and it is free if you receive the tax refund by mail.

I'm a little nervous because there may not be a confirmation from the IRS before the tax deadline, so I have to hold my breath til then. Here is to hoping next year is easier, it should be since I am sticking with H&R Block!

To check refund status, use this site:

https://sa.www4.irs.gov/irfof/lang/en/irfofgetstatus.jsp

 

https://www.freep.com/story/money/personal-finance/susan-tompor/2018/04/14/turbotax-refund-processing-fee-taxes/508124002/


 

June 17th update: Lesson learned. Don't procrastinate if choosing the mail option. Get it done early to avoid fees and worry.


6 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page