top of page
  • Writer's picturePokey

Rational vs Reasonable


http://www.collaborativefund.com/blog/rational-vs-reasonable/

Loss aversion. The idea that people hate losing more than enjoy winning.

I try to avoid this thinking as well as with regret. Sure regret is common and probably useful in terms of learning from mistakes. However, regret is often an excuse or way to bring in unnecessary misery.

The best advice maybe I have ever heard is to minimize future regret, @ Jeff Bezos. Play for the long run. Why invest in bonds when the math says the best return is stocks. Why invest in strategies that fail to beat the SP500.

To me it seems the biggest regret I can have in 30 years is not maxing out my savings, retirement, investing contributions now.

Which transitions to another post I read today....

 

https://radreads.co/how-to-overcome-the-scarcity-mindset/

And this is such great advice I write it to myself to make sure I follow it:

Quit wanting things that don't make you happy. You have it. The life you have, it's there. Live it.


3 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page