top of page
  • Writer's picturePokey

College Admissions bribing


Rich folks throwing money at colleges to get their children accepted made the news this week. While some think of this as pitiful. It doesn't surprise me at all.

The pockets of parents have always seemed to be a factor in college admissions. I made the decision to leave my comfortable local public university - NC State and while I do love NC State and think it is a great university. My development at Emory vastly improved my intelligence, opportunities, and maturity. The struggles and mistakes I made at Emory, I cherish now.

My twitter feed has blown up industry leaders writing that no one cares where you went to college. While I believe there is truth to it down the road, like age 40. The connections and first job you get out of school are greatly influence by your college decision.

Given my experience, I formed the opinion that students should be considering the "best", most challenging school rather than ones you are comfortable with.

Even though, I knew I couldn't go wrong with either decision: NC State or Emory. The new connections I made were something I never would have made at NC State.

"Your network is your net worth" is the real benefit of college.



1 view0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page