top of page
  • Writer's picturePokey

My Real World Investing Story


I had a similar experience as Michael this month. I wasn't buying a house or potentially having to carry 2 mortgages. The deadline I was anxiously nearing was the April 15th - ROTH IRA contribution date. Low on cash, after some heavy spending and a cruise trip in March, it was time to formulate a plan to max that out.

I started selling stocks to reach the $5,500 max contribution. The stocks I sold were losers, for tax harvesting purposes (not that it will matter for my 2019 taxes). I decided that would be my strategy and hoped that would cover it.

Well, that was not the case and I was forced to come up with a new strategy. I guess I am making that sound bad and should make it known that I'm very fortunate to have limited losers.

The next step I decided was to reduce my position in larger holdings - $AAPL, $BRK.B, $DIS.

$DIS was the last of the bunch and sure enough the one that hurt, as it jumped 10% the next day once it rolled out its streaming service.

As Michael closes, "Life happens."

Nothing you can do, but try and enjoy it.


1 view0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page